The Process of Writing a Post

Some days writing a blog post is as easy as watching TV.  Ideas and words seem to flow as if by magic.  I have tried to pin point why this is.  Is it what I’m writing about?  Is it the mood I’m in?  The kind of day I’ve had?  I’ve determined that a big part of it depends on what I’m writing about.  If I’m telling a story, or writing about something important or close to my heart, the words come more easily.  This makes sense to me.  Most of those posts are ideas that I have thought about over and over again in the general context of life.  When I struggle to come up with an idea, I struggle to write once I’ve thought of something.  It’s like I don’t have an investment in the idea.

I don’t plan out my posts.  I have a list of ideas that I pull from (sometimes), but I usually don’t do any writing until I’m getting ready to post.  This is mainly because I feel like I don’t have time to work on writing more than one in a day.  It can be frustrating to sit and stare at the computer screen, writing a line, deleting, writing almost the exact same line, deleting, and going back to staring at the screen.  Inevitably these turn out to be the posts that I am unsatisfied with, but I believe there is much value to going through the writing process.

I find there have been fewer days where I sit and stare at the screen.  However, there are some parts of the writing process that I don’t think will ever improve.  For instance, I always fear grammatical errors and typos.  I try to review every post before I publish it, but sometimes your eyes see what they think they are supposed to be seeing.  Every so often the errors slip through the cracks.  Oh, the embarrassment!  I immediately edit the post to fix the error, hoping that no one read it in the meantime.

I would say 50% of the time I will think of something else that I should have included, or think of a better way to phrase what I already wrote.  Sometimes the ideas come within 5 minutes, sometimes it’s not until the next day.  I typically don’t revise or add to posts once they’ve been published.  Perhaps I should.  Actually, I think what this tells me is that I should write my posts out ahead of time and ruminate on them before publishing.  If only I could be that organized and on the ball.

I’d like to be able to say that blogging has gotten easier over the last sixty days, but I think I’m still trying to figure it out.  Still trying to find a focus.  At least it hasn’t gotten any harder, and I’ll take that for the time being!

About Michele

I am a thirty-something aspiring writer and photographer. For the time being, I earn my living as an attorney. When I'm not writing or making pictures, you'll find me running, playing with my dogs, or eating at local restaurants with my husband.

Posted on March 8, 2011, in blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I feel exactly the same way. Blogging seems so stream of consciousness, and I wonder if it’s doing any good for my writing skills? I do know I feel more confident sharing my writing, and I’m more disciplined in getting my bum in the chair to sit down and write, so i guess they’re two positives to come out of it.

Leave a comment