Sand Through The Hourglass

I have no idea where the last 24 hours have gone.  Really, the last week.  Time is flying by as if I have no control over anything.  I find it strange that during the week I can find the time every night to write two blog posts, complete a daily photograph assignment, run, knit some, read some, and still manage to go to bed at a reasonable hour.  No, I’m not doing any of this during work hours!  But once the weekend rolls around, I get nothing done.  I struggle to find time to do one blog post, let alone two.

I would love to say I’m living a jet set life and that’s why I can’t (don’t) find the time.  But that’s simply not true.  We pretty much just stay around the house.  I can’t even say there are any home improvement projects in the works taking up weekend time.

I love to schedule my weekdays, but I try not to schedule weekend time.  I have things to accomplish on the weekends, but it’s not so rigid as to say “get up at 7:30, gather laundry, make coffee”, etc.  I’m thinking I might have to start doing that.  When the weekend rushes by, I don’t feel prepared for the week ahead.  I need that weekend time to decompress and regroup.

It is only a little after 9 on Saturday night, so I suppose I shouldn’t assume that the remainder of the weekend will be a complete waste.  I will at least run 9 miles.  But tonight marks the shift in daylight savings time, so I will lose an hour of sleep when we “spring forward” in the wee hours of the morning.  Which means that I most certainly will need a nap tomorrow afternoon, even with plans to turn in a bit early tonight.

I’m hoping to slow down the sands of time in the next couple of weeks in order to complete some projects and cross things off my to-do list.  We’ll see how that goes.

About Michele

I am a thirty-something aspiring writer and photographer. For the time being, I earn my living as an attorney. When I'm not writing or making pictures, you'll find me running, playing with my dogs, or eating at local restaurants with my husband.

Posted on March 12, 2011, in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment