Overcoming My Obsession With Stats

When I first started blogging about nine months ago, I was consumed, obsessed, addicted to my stat tracker.  How many people looked at my blog?  Where did they come from?  Did they subscribe?  Did they comment?  Do they have a blog?  I couldn’t get enough of it.  The sad part was, no one was really looking at my blog(s).  Yet I still checked the stats page like there was something to report on.  It was depressing.  It’s like I was just punishing myself.  I was obsessed with the Freshly Pressed sites.  How were they chosen?  Was it how often they posted?  How many subscribers they had before?  How could I get Freshly Pressed?

I would check my email when I got up in the morning to see if anyone had subscribed or commented.  I would check my blogs first thing when I got work to see who had looked at them.  Then I downloaded the WordPress mobile app – not so I could blog on my phone…oh, no.  I downloaded it because I could check my stats.  Then I was able to check them right after I checked my email.  If I had lots of hits or comments, I would feel ecstatic!  If I had none, I would be sad.  What a horrible way to start the day, right?

I have slowly been able to wean myself from my stats obsession.  Don’t get me wrong – I still check them every day.  But there are times when I will go most of the day without even thinking about them.  I rarely check them on my phone (unless I am away from a computer for an extended period of time).  So, what changed?  I still want people looking at my blog.  I still want people subscribing.  How did I get over that unhealthy obsession?

I started focusing on what the blogs were really about – the blogs!  If I focused on my content, readers would come (yes, I’ve been thinking about Field of Dreams a lot lately…”If you build it, they will come.”).  I can’t expect people to find or subscribe to my blog if I’m not concentrating on the one thing that would draw them in the first place.  Once I started The Daily Post challenge and I was posting to two blogs a day, I didn’t have as much time to worry about the stats.  I had to worry about writing posts.  And what do you think happened?  That’s right…I had more readers and subscribers.

There are still some days when I think I’ve put together a really smart post and I only get a few reads.  I still feel a bit of disappointment, but rather than dwelling on it, I immediately push it aside and focus on the next post.  I’m blogging for myself, to practice writing, to find ideas, to push myself.  That’s what I try to remember every day, regardless of the stat tracker.  However, that’s not to say I wouldn’t be thrilled to wake up one morning to find one of my blogs Freshly Pressed on the front page of WordPress.com!

About Michele

I am a thirty-something aspiring writer and photographer. For the time being, I earn my living as an attorney. When I'm not writing or making pictures, you'll find me running, playing with my dogs, or eating at local restaurants with my husband.

Posted on March 18, 2011, in blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. InsideJourneys

    I feel the same way!
    Face it, we write as much for ourselves as for readers – for praise and attention.
    I still can’t figure out what happened when I tripled my readers on just one post – I call it my freshpressed moment. Don’t know why that post got so much attention so I can’t duplicate it.
    There was an email about what to do to get FP a month or so ago? Check WP.

  2. I feel the same. I keep having to remind myself why I blog – to have a voice, because in the real world, I am often too shy/polite/nice to speak up. Not that I say anything particularly challenging on my blog …
    The more I read and comment on other people’s blogs, the more traffic and comments I get on my own. People want to connect – if you’re not connecting with other people, it makes it harder for them to find and connect with you.

Leave a comment