I Wasn’t Meant To Be An Employee

I read this on another blog the other day (or something to this effect), and it really struck a chord with me.  You wouldn’t think it would take reading this about a total stranger to make me realize how fitting a description this is for me.  I was the person who spent over two years of college majoring only in entrepreneurship.  (During my junior year I wisely added marketing and management).  I’ve never uttered these words aloud before, at least not where anyone besides my husband can hear them.  I feel like there is something taboo about openly making such a bold statement.  I mean, don’t we all think we could run things better than our bosses?

When I started to think about this statement, I started to think about all of the things that I dislike about being an employee (although I technically am not one…go figure).  I then started thinking about all of the hair-brained ideas I’ve come up with related to what I want to do when I grow up.  I realized that a few of them really are not feasible ideas. But I also realized that those things I am most passionate about are those that fit best with a non-traditional work schedule.

Creativity can’t be forced and sometimes it strikes at inopportune times.  That’s why working at home makes the most sense for me.  The thought of working from home, making my own schedule, working on my own deadlines makes me excited. I know some people struggle with not having someone peeking over their shoulder and keeping them on task.  I luckily am not one of those people. Even now when I am able to work from home I find myself more productive than when I spend an entire day at the office.

So the question is, now what?  How do I make that leap?  That part of the plan hasn’t come together yet.  I know it will be slow going.  I know it will have to come together in baby steps.  I wish I could snap my fingers and have everything in place right now.  Since I can’t, I will have to be satisfied with taking one baby step at a time.

About Michele

I am a thirty-something aspiring writer and photographer. For the time being, I earn my living as an attorney. When I'm not writing or making pictures, you'll find me running, playing with my dogs, or eating at local restaurants with my husband.

Posted on June 6, 2011, in career and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Baby steps are good. Slow but sure will get you where you want to go. Good luck with your journey.

  2. I think you’ll be great at whatever you do. You strike me as a focused, hard working and determined person. I say, go for it! Good luck. x

Leave a comment