Another Year Older

Monday was my birthday, and I am a firm believer in embracing my birthday. Another year older does mean another year wiser. I like to think of my birthday as my own personal New Year – a time for reflection, change, new beginnings. I don’t mind getting older because I don’t feel older. (Although we went to a concert last night, and maybe I am too old to be out after 11 on a Tuesday!)

In general, it was a pretty good day. My husband made my birthday cake (see left) completely from scratch – including mousse filling and ganache frosting. Am I a lucky girl or what? Also, calories don’t count it they are in the form of birthday cake. One of my favorite parts of any given birthday is the call I receive from my 81-year-old grandma. She is so cute. We basically have the same conversation every year, but I like it. Strangely, I did not get a call from my brother, but perhaps family dynamics are better left for another post.  Birthdays are happy occasions.

I received an unexpected surprise, although I don’t know that it counts as a birthday present. I got a call about one of the out-of-state jobs I discussed previously. I have an interview two weeks from Friday. I can’t believe how quickly it came about, and I’m already fretting over having to make a difficult decision. My husband tells me not to get ahead of myself, which is wise advice, but I can’t help but think about what will happen if I receive an offer too good to pass up and we have to move less than two years after we bought our house.

It’s a new year, so I want to be open to opportunity, but the logistics have me stressed out already. If it weren’t for the house, I would be all for it. Not only would the move mean better opportunities for my current career, it would also be better for writing and photography.

However, it’s probably best to just take one day at a time. That’s one of the things I’m trying to do during this next year of life. No more wishing days away. I will just have to patiently wait for two weeks to pass…

About Michele

I am a thirty-something aspiring writer and photographer. For the time being, I earn my living as an attorney. When I'm not writing or making pictures, you'll find me running, playing with my dogs, or eating at local restaurants with my husband.

Posted on June 22, 2011, in career, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Happy birthday. Love your take on birthdays as new beginnings. I’ll be thinking of you in 2 weeks time. Fingers crossed. 😉

Leave a comment