In Limbo

I should be working, but quite frankly there is so much going on right now that I’m finding it really hard to concentrate on summarizing medical records. (Although I always find that difficult because it’s so boring!) It doesn’t help that things are slow right now at work and I’m struggling to find enough to do to bill seven hours in a day. I think that is adding to my anxiety.

Last week I had a job interview. It went well (in my opinion), but accepting any offer would mean relocating to a city with a much higher cost of living than what we are used to. This is exciting, scary, and stressful all at the same time. I am not sure when I will hear something, but the waiting is killing me. The feeling of uncertainty is spilling over into all aspects of life. I haven’t been writing. I haven’t been taking any pictures. I haven’t been editing the pictures I’ve already taken. I truly feel in limbo.

I know that I need to just push it out of my mind and go normally about my day. But there is just so much to think about if we have to move. Getting the house ready to sell by making repairs (both major and minor), finding a place to live in a city whose neighborhoods we are not completely familiar with, moving two dogs to the city, etc. It’s feeling a bit overwhelming.

But it’s also incredibly exciting. We have been thinking about relocating for quite a while, and we are currently experiencing some major conflict issues with our neighbors. It would be nice to have a fresh start before we have kids when moving could be much more complicated.

I am both dreading and looking forward to the phone call. I hate making life-altering decisions, and I just know that if I get an offer it will not be the proverbial offer I can’t refuse. It will require serious contemplation, discussion, number crunching. In short, it will require me to make said tough life-altering decision. I just hope I make the right choice.

About Michele

I am a thirty-something aspiring writer and photographer. For the time being, I earn my living as an attorney. When I'm not writing or making pictures, you'll find me running, playing with my dogs, or eating at local restaurants with my husband.

Posted on July 13, 2011, in career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good luck with the decision making. Either way, you know things need to change. You can’t stay in your current position being this bored and unhappy. It’s a waste of a perfectly wonderful life. I’ll be thinking of you!

Leave a comment