Observations on Running

We’ve had some unusually warm temperatures for this time of year, and I’m seeing more people out than usual.  I’m sure people are drawn out by New Year’s resolutions, the weather, and the fact that training is about to begin for the nation’s largest half marathons.  As more people are out, there are some things I have noticed.

It’s really not wise to run with traffic – ever, but especially not at dusk and when you aren’t wearing adequate reflective gear.  I see so many people running with traffic.  Remember how your parents taught you to walk/run against traffic?  That advice is still applicable.

I’m also surprised at how many people I see out when it’s dark without reflective gear.  Those small bits of material on your shoes and clothes really isn’t enough.  Always wear additional items, like a vest, when you are out early in the morning or late in the evening.  The sun sets so quickly these days, and what starts out as a fairly well-lit run quickly turns dark.  If you’re a klutz like me, think about investing in a head lamp.  Yes, I’m serious.  It lights your path and helps oncoming traffic spot you.

Which brings me to a real gripe.  Drivers, you must be on the lookout for runners!  Stop signs are placed for a reason.  They aren’t meant for you to roll up to and through without looking in all directions.  Just because you don’t see a vehicle doesn’t mean there isn’t a runner or walker right in your path of travel.  I really don’t like to jump out of harm’s way.  Yes, I will curse at you.

I also see a lot of runners on the sidewalks.  I just don’t get this.  No race will ever be run on a sidewalk.  It also makes it difficult for those walking on the sidewalk to do so.

I am lucky in that there are two greenway paths within running distance of my house.  I love being out there with other runners, walkers, and bikers.  But it’s important to be aware of your surroundings.  Let someone know you’re coming up behind them and are going to pass.  This goes for all types of users.  An audible “on your left” really takes very little effort and I can better gauge how close you are to me.  Silence or a tinny little bell doesn’t really do the trick.

And finally, the thing I really don’t understand – is it really that hard to say hello, wave, or even smile at a fellow runner as you pass by?  You’re both out doing the same thing, working hard, trying to improve yourself.  It’s crazy how many runners I pass who avert their eyes or even scowl at me.  We’re all runners.  We’re all connected by the love of the sport.  I always give me an extra boost when a fellow runner give me an enthusiastic hello, and I always try to do the same (even if you’re scowling at me).  Maybe give it a try next time you are out.

Keep these things in mind as you take to the streets, and I think we’ll all have a safer and more enjoyable time.

About Michele

I am a thirty-something aspiring writer and photographer. For the time being, I earn my living as an attorney. When I'm not writing or making pictures, you'll find me running, playing with my dogs, or eating at local restaurants with my husband.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I find drivers purposely attempt to run over runners… Like it’s a game!

Leave a comment